Two Brides


Tip #1: What I wish I would have known….about gifts
October 15, 2008, 6:19 pm
Filed under: tips

So with the wedding done I have learned a lot of stuff I never knew would be a big deal/I would need to know, so I’m going to share a few things I wish someone had told me.

1. Registering for gifts means a lot of waste

When I initially registered for gifts, I did so thinking it would be the easiest way for guests to find out what we wanted and would reduce the amount of crap we got, thus reducing our carbon footprint. But I forgot one big thing. Packaging.

I totally, 100% forgot how much shit they put in boxes to make sure nothing breaks. So while I am very very happy we registered to get the things we want, I really really wish I could have put up on our website for people to go to the store and purchase the gifts and then give them to us in person at the tea party(the day before the wedding). Instead, I’m up to my eyeballs in bubble wrap, boxes, plastic and other stuff from shipping.

As I was unpacking everything I realized the amount of waste that was going on and promptly got misty eyed. So I’m recycling all the boxes, keeping all the bubble wrap for future use, and trying to reduce the amount I’m putting in landfills. But still. It’s a lot.

Register, but remind guest not to ship your gift and buy it in person. Thus, a lot of packing supplies will be saved.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Yeah, this part seriously bums me out too… in addition to the environmental impact, it also sucks because we have to bring a lot of our recycling into the plant if we don’t want to BUY the container the town requires recyclables to be in. (I guess I should just suck it up.) But most UPS stores and other shipping places will take the styrofoam peanuts and some other packaging materials – we’ve just been saving all that stuff in a garbage bag and taking it in when it’s full.

Comment by Wendy




Leave a Reply

