Two Brides


Rabbi Fred
September 13, 2008, 2:12 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I have heard so many unpleasant stories about brides and their officiants. Mostly it’s from brides who never really met their officiant before the wedding. I come out on the other end.

Natalie and I belong to Adat Shalom, a reconstructionst synagogue in Bethesda MD. I have been working with Rabbi Fred for 2 1/2 years on my conversion- which happened 2 weeks ago. He is one of the funniest, most well educated rabbi’s ever. He specializes in ecology and feminism, so obviously he’s already a hit. Talking with him in the least several years and going to synagogue has been so special and I’m so glad we found someone like him to be our officiant.

We have had several meetings about the wedding and he is always so excited. I get more excited about the wedding just talking to him! I know that whatever he says that day will be so personal and so reflective that I’ll probably cry a river.

I would totally recommend not picking a rabbi or whatever out of a hat to officiate your day. Start going to churches or synagogues in your area and listen to them. Find someone who has similar views as you and establish a rock solid relationship. Go to events they host. Set up meetings just to talk. If they have kids, all the better, get to know them too.

Going through the conversion process and the wedding process has really drawn me very close to my community at Adat Shalom. I have a huge group of people who are so supportive and cheering me on. Especially when I can not get “legally” married here in DC, having that commitment be confirmed by a large group of people who take it seriously is very important.

I’m not worried at all about the ceremony because I know Rabbi Fred will make it so amazing. I trust him so much. I’m so touched he will be able to do our wedding- he is truely an amazing man. I can’t imagine having a stranger be in charge of such an important moment.

Choose an officant who means something to you. It’s worth it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

