Two Brides


More book binding ideas
June 2, 2008, 3:57 pm
Filed under: iwantit

So as you already read, I have taken book art classes. This summer is my 3rd class and since they have no more classes for me to take, it’s an independent study class. Hand binding books is a really hard thing to do right- it takes excellent hand skills, a good teacher and lots n lots of time.

I decided for my independent study to do 10 handbound books I will place at each table for everyone at the individual tables to sign. They will have pictures of each guest on the pages so every guest will have a page. The binding will probably be a Coptic stitch with silk screened linen covers. It will most likely take my all semester. And to hold all the books I want to do a wooden box structure to hold them all- made by moi of course.

Example of the stitch:

My teacher is Kerry McAleer, an incredible book artist who is trying to put an MA together at the corcoran for book art- which I decided, if it works, I will do. If your in the VA or DC/MD area, take a class with her. she also does letterpress classes which is my next class I will be taking with her.

Now if your not into spending hours and hours of your time hand binding books for your wedding I understand. That’s why a lot of artist sell their stuff on etsy. I was surprised at just how low cost they are. I know how much time and effort they take- so $75 for a book is a steal.

Roots book by Kreativlink

Anne Lace book by IndianaBlue

Pebbles by Paperaarie, my favorite

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

super-stunning

Comment by Desaray

Beautiful books! I’ve been thinking about trying hand made books. Now you have me thinking that it might be more challenging than I expect.

Comment by Deb




Leave a Reply

