Two Brides


Cut the crap
October 24, 2007, 6:47 pm
Filed under: iwantit

Honestly, I like the idea of registries (i.e. getting gifts that are actually useful instead of 56 bottles of shower gel), but people register for stuff that collects dust. How many times are you going to use that monogrammed wine chiller? Do you really need every gizmo williams and sonoma offer? So I was very excited when I stumbled upon Alternative Gift Registry. It emphasizes decommercializing registries.  I would love to have some people buy us art rather than forks, but I can’t go into Macy’s and do that. So I could list favorite paintings/art work on my registry! Or asking for someone in the family to pull together family records and have a family tree. Or I would love to have people have old photos scanned and give me a cd so I can pass on images to my children of their great grandma.

Yes, you can register for your special wine glasses- but add a few things you would love to have, but feel like its too much to ask of someone in particular. Ask for cooking classes and someone you invite may take you up on it!

From the site:  With an estimated 2.5 million weddings in the United States each year and an average of 175 guests invited to each celebration, the stuff associated with weddings quickly adds up

  • According to The Knot, one of the largest wedding planning resources in the world, $19 billion is spent buying gifts from wedding registries each year.
  • Many traditional gifts that were once meant to help a couple set up a home no longer apply, with so many couples getting married or remarried later in life.
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

